Tiny House Dreaming

Lately I’ve finally started to really be on board with the idea of owning a home someday. For the first few years of our marriage I really thought that I wanted to live in a high rise condo til our littles were teenagers and able to beg for a normal life. The more that I’ve learned about myself I’ve realized that condos had the appeal of high end finishes without a necessarily high cost. But then I saw the Rowley’s post about their kids playing in their yard and I instantly knew I wanted land. And finally Landon and I were suddenly on the same page with dreaming about our first home.

Despite what our semi complicated journey with finances would lend you to believe, at the end of the day I am so anti-debt. A few months ago I calculated the amount that a homeowner pays in interest over a typical 30 year loan on a 300K home and nearly died. Since when are we ok with spending the majority of our waking hours working a job to pay a bank for the privilege to live in a home? With a 4.5% interest rate we’re talking $147,200 alone. all. to. the. bank.

Ew.

So my current goal for a home is to take out a $125,000 loan for a home when the stars are aligned, and for it to be a 15 year loan. The difference between a 15 year and 30 year loan at 4.5% interest rate for that amount is $55,000. Which is a lot of trips around the world. Next we would love for the home to be 1,000sq ft or less. Because, we’re tiny house dreaming. Should that amount not cover the cost of the home, I’d want to save in cash til we can cover the difference.

Wishlist:
Fireplace • Farmhouse Kitchen Sink • Kitchen Backsplash • Walk In Closet w/ Built in Cabinets • 3 Bedrooms {babies rooms being extra narrow} • Tall Tall Ceilings • Large/Tall Windows • Entryway Space • Hardwood floors • Outdoor Living Space • Garden

IMG_7030 IMG_7031 IMG_7029Now before you roll your eyes and think, oh c’mon girl, get real. Stick with me here. One of my favorite quotes lately is “people will kill you over time, and how they’ll kill you is with tiny harmless phrases like, ‘be realistic.’ I don’t want to be realistic! Because realistic means a hefty chunk of debt til we’re all 50+. So I choose to believe that there’s a better way. I’m a sucker for details, and think they can make all the difference between a small square footage home that feels lacking and one that feels like it has everything you need and then some. Here are some of my favorite interior inspiration photos as of late, all via Pinterest, which you can find my entire home board here. Enjoy!

IMG_7033 IMG_7034 IMG_7035

IMG_7044IMG_7040IMG_7041

IMG_7045 IMG_7046 IMG_7052
 IMG_7060IMG_7055IMG_7077IMG_7050
 IMG_7054IMG_7056IMG_7051
  IMG_7057IMG_7063IMG_7061
 IMG_7064IMG_7065
IMG_7066 IMG_7078IMG_7080IMG_7067IMG_7049IMG_7069



What are you dreaming of for you current or future home?

3 thoughts on “Tiny House Dreaming

  1. Pingback: Thriving in 2015 | January Update |

Leave a Reply

