Books Read in April

I left off last month, 190 pages into The Book Thief, hating it. It wasn’t until a little after page 400 that I stopped sitting down to read it thinking “this is a miserable book.” I didn’t think I was the type to continue reading books I hated, but with so many family members promising it was good, I kept trucking along. By the end of the 500+ page book I felt like I had closure and no longer hated it. But I can’t recommend it to you in good conscious. Oh it really was bad.

2: Girl’s In White Dresses. Lauren Conrad had chosen it for her book group a year or so ago, so I picked it up at Barnes and Noble thinking it’d be a fun refreshing read. It turned out to be a journey of six post undergraduate girls, who are unsuccessful in love and hung over more often than not. I’d recommend this one more for the polka dots on the cover than for the story

3: The Round House, named book of the year by the Washington Post. It’s interestingly placed in the Ojibwe reservation in North Dakota and written from a 13-year-old boy, Joe’s, perspective. His mother is attacked very early on in the book which affects the parent – child dynamic for the rest of the book, as Joe has to step in and handle adult matters. My largest question when reading, was just how common is the situation, and why the author choose to present the reservation in that light. Then, at the end of the book, statistics are provided which were humbling and slightly haunting.

photo 1-2

4:  Landon had finished the Peacegiver, and after loving it, encouraged me to give it a try. It was a quick read — start to finish in a day. It provided insight and doctrine on the atonement, not playing the victim, loving your spouse, and forgiveness among other things in the form of a parable. Though not what I felt like my soul needed, I liked it!

5: Finally, I finished off the month with my favorite book of them all, Lean In: Women, Work and the Will to Lead. Because it was unlike any book I had ever read, and because I had just come off of 3 novels, it was amazing and enlightening. In her book Sheryl Sandberg, COO of Facebook, provides a perfect balance of personal stories, her impressive resume, and solid statistics. I finished the book with a renewed desire to work my way towards business school, to continue to find a balance of parenting with Landon, and to cultivate ambitious desires. I think this would be a great read for anyone — woman, man, parent, teacher, career counselor, boss, coworker, etc.

IMG_7604

 


 

3 thoughts on “Books Read in April

  1. A good novel you could read is “The Boy in the Stripped Pajamas” I just finished that one and really loved it. It was a beautiful story.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Making 2014 Count | April Update | Kyra Faulkner

Leave a Reply

