Week 19: Our Little Somersaulting Mango

 
Today feels like one of the best days of my life.
Last week was rough. terrible even. But man oh man is this a brand new week.
We spent the weekend up at his parents house along with Avery and Trever, then spent Labor Day making this apartment our own, thanks to 2 gallons of Behr Paint
[sure didn’t need that much paint. thanks for the advice apartment manager haha]
 
 And then today I had my 19 week appointment complete with surprise ultrasound!

I had forgotten what time my appt, so I had called the office early for a reminder. I was told that their entire computer system had crashed, along with all of the information of who’s appointment was when. This had happened a month ago so they decided to start over, blindly scheduling additional appointments each day along with the ones that had disappear. This made for the longest wait of my life in the lobby when they had me come in later than morning, as they tried to fit everyone in. They apologized and promised that the next month would be back to normal. When I was the very last person left in the lobby, and then a good chunk of time later, I was finally called back.  
 The frustration and annoyance from all of that waiting quickly went away once I met my new doctor, or this time, midwife.
Before I knew it I was watching our little baby move all across the screen, unbeknownst to my midwife, Lori, it was such a relief to see that everything looked good in there. I had really been worried. She asked if I wanted to know the sex of our baby and I immediately said Yes! Then realized what the heck am I saying, Landon isn’t here.
I quickly recovered, and asked if she could write it down on a piece of paper and keep it a surprise while I was there that day, so that we could Landon and I could find out together. 
During part of the ultrasound she had me look up at the ceiling while she zoomed in, determined and confirmed the gender. I’m thinking, “Ah crap, well then of course it’s a boy. She obviously just confirmed he has a little package. What was she thinking saying that? She’s not very good at this.Gotta act surprised now when we open that piece of paper together.” I was kinda bummed.
Fast-forward to me sitting shotgun in the car with Landon, excitedly opening the sealed envelope with two close up ultrasounds and the word “Girl?” written
 
bahahahahahaha
Visions of headbands, leggings, and cheetah print now dance through my head
 

2 thoughts on “Week 19: Our Little Somersaulting Mango

  1. It's a girl, it's a girl, IT'S A GIRL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I've known for a few days but this is the first time I've gotten around to reading your blog. I'm SO super excited. I'm obviously bias because my first was a girl. But I must say, having a girl first rocks!!! Baby girl clothes are SO much fun.
    Now you get the fun, yet maddening chore of picking a girl name. Good luck! But hey-it is easier than picking a boy name, so consider yourselves lucky on that one!
    I'm happy for you two!

    Like

Leave a Reply

