Do One Thing a Day That Scares You

This weekend marks our 1 year anniversary!
In light of that, along with some thought provoking job interview questions today, I find myself analyzing my goals, the lack thereof of fresh ones, hobbies, interests, and stepping outside of my comfort zone.
The past year I crept out of my comfort zone when I:
 
Sat in Sarah Jane’s chair and said, “Pixie Cut!”
Interviewed at Lululemon for the Assistant Manager Position,
Took a drawing/art class,
Asked for more responsibility at Deseret Book,
Seriously contemplated a half-marathon,
Moved to California with Landon speedy fast with little to no plan,
and when we prayed about our little family’s future, and trusted God with His answer.

"Do one thing every day that scares you." First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt #motivation #inspiration #quotes
But if Eleanor Roosevelt was onto something when she said do one thing a day that scares you, I’m seriously slacking. I could not sit here and list 365 things that I did that scared me, unless we list pixie cut for every day. So how I can do better this year? What scares me? And where does the edge of my comfort zone end?

Truthfully many things scare me:
Creepy men, old men, men wearing their hoods at night, women walking in my general direction that look like men at night, men in parking lots, male neighbors… you get the idea.

Men, bugs, dogs, birds, cats, snakes, lizards, frogs, butterflies, ladybugs, also scary.

But surely I must be scared of other, non living things.As I look forward to year number two with Landon, I’d like to focus on this idea a bit more. And give the half marathons and yoga teacher training programs more of a serious consideration!


 

 

Leave a Reply

